LEAF criteria and standards were developed according to international standards and the latest data in environmental science. They are a direct reflection of the issues facing the foodservice industry and are updated yearly. 

How it works

LEAF Certification offers accreditation to restaurants demonstrating efforts in environmental and sustainable foodservice practices. Each restaurant must undergo an on-site review by a LEAF Accredited Consultant and meet minimum requirements in ten key areas of sustainability including:

1. Energy use
2. Food purchasing and menu items
3. Supplies
4. Building and location
5. Furnishing and decorative items
6. Chemicals
7. Waste and recycling
8. Employees
9. Policy and innovation
10. Water use


There are three levels of environmental certification, each demonstrating a higher commitment than the last. There is only one level for smaller establishments such as cafes and food trucks. 

LEVEL 1: The facility meets the minimum requirements for certification with LEAF, and has made a positive attempt to become an environmentally-friendly foodservice establishment.

LEVEL 2: The facility meets above the minimum criteria required for certification with LEAF, and has proven to be committed to reducing the impact of the facility on the planet. The facility is well on its way to reaching top level status for sustainable food service.

LEVEL 3: The facility has reached the top level of environmental sustainability. The facility makes a continuous effort to reduce the environmental impact, and contributes above and beyond that of other facilities to provide the most sustainable food service experience to its patrons.